Douglas F. Prawitt

LeRay McAllister / Deloitte Foundation Distinguished Professor of Accountancy,
Director, School of Accountancy,
Marriott School of Business,
Brigham Young University

For more information, contact:

  • Steven McBride
  • Elaine M. Harwood

or any member of our senior staff.


Douglas Prawitt is an expert in financial accounting and reporting, auditing, and internal control over financial reporting (ICFR). Professor Prawitt has particular expertise with the implementation and evaluation of ICFR in accordance with the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations of the Treadway Commission (COSO) Framework.

Professor Prawitt serves on the COSO governing board. As a board member, he helped to develop the 2013 COSO Framework, which public companies use to evaluate and test systems of ICFR. During his tenure as a member of the Auditing Standards Board of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA), Professor Prawitt addressed issues related to internal control, auditor reporting, analytical procedures, and audit sampling. He has consulted with practicing auditors on policy, methodology, and engagement issues for more than twenty-five years.

Professor Prawitt has received awards for his research, including the Wildman Medal, which recognizes leading-edge contributions to the theory and practice of accounting. He has published articles in The Accounting ReviewJournal of Accounting ResearchContemporary Accounting ResearchCPA Journal, and the Journal of Accountancy, among others, and has served as editor and on editorial boards for several research journals. Professor Prawitt has also coauthored numerous books, including two leading college auditing texts.

An award-winning educator with more than two decades of experience, Professor Prawitt has been recognized multiple times for excellence in teaching. At Brigham Young University he teaches courses on financial auditing and business assurance, financial accounting, and professional judgment and decision-making.

Professional Affiliations

Omni Logistics LLC v. Forward Air Corporation


The Hertz Corporation et al. v. Frissora et al.